Welcome to Hoffman Auto School. Our current Driver’s Education Package available at this time which is dictated by the RMV laws in Massachusetts that consist of:
Thirty (30) hours of classroom training
Twelve (12) hours of behind-the-wheel training
Six (6) hours of observation time *
Free Two (2) Hour Parent Class.
This program is mandatory for any Massachusetts person under the age of 18 who wishes to
obtain a Driver’s License.
* COVID-19 CHANGES: As of May 29, 2021 certain COVID restrictions have been lifted:
The requirement for junior operators to complete six hours observing another student driver has been reinstated. This now must be completed as part of the driver's education curriculum.
If the learner's permit was issued BEFORE May 29, 2021, observation driving hours may be completed with a licensed instructor in a Hoffman Driving School vehicle, or the student may continue to complete their observation driving hour requirement with the Parent/Guardian Affidavit, or a mix of the two.
If a learner's permit is issued ON or AFTER May 29, 2021, ALL observation driving hours must be completed with a licensed instructor in a Hoffman Driving School vehicle. The Parent/Guardian Affidavit form cannot be used for these students. Students will again be allowed to sit in the vehicle to observe another student and complete their observation driving hours.
Observation hours that are completed by a parent/guardian, if a student's permit was issued BEFORE May 29, 2021, shall be recorded in an Affidavit of Completion Form and must be submitted to Hoffman Auto School confirming when the hours were completed.
Fees & Payments
EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1ST 2021, THE TOTAL COST OF THE PROGRAM IS $850 (paid in two installments.)
A non-refundable deposit of $400 is due upon registering for the class to reserve a space. It will be applied to the total cost of the course. The second installment of the balance is payable by the end of the class or before the first driving lesson.
We currently accept the following methods of payment:
Venmo ---- Click Here to Proceed to our Payment Page
Check, Cash, or Money Order (Make sure the check has the students full name and the month of the class they want to take)
Check or Money order can be mailed to our office at 32 Broad Street, Merrimac MA 01860 or dropped off in person. If you would like to drop off your payment in person and it is outside of our office hours, there is a drop box next to the door where you can leave your payment. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH.
If driving lessons have been scheduled and there is still an open balance of tuition, lesson(s) may be cancelled until payment is resolved.
See our current Schedule of Classes.
Student Classes are held in a Hybrid Format. You may choose in-person or remote when you register.
Parent Classes are all held via Zoom. You can sign up here.
Students must be at least 15 and 9 months old by the first day of class. NO EXCEPTIONS. Students are allowed to miss a class as long as the same section missed is made up at a later date. The Driver’s Education course must be completed within two (2) years of the date of the first class in order to receive certification for the class. (NO EXCEPTIONS)
Driving time will not be scheduled until after the completion of the classroom portion. Parent class must also be fulfilled before lessons can be scheduled. NO APPOINTMENTS WILL BE SCHEDULED FOR STUDENTS WHO HAVE NOT PAID IN FULL. As required by law, students must also complete forty (40) hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a parent. The student must also hold a permit for a full six (6) months (183 days) before he/she is eligible for a license.
Students may be picked up at home, school or work, as long as notice is given. If a student is scheduled for a driving lesson, they must be prepared. They must have their permit with them and it must be in good condition. All pertinent information must be legible and all restrictions must be adhered to. (I.e. corrective lenses if required.)
On March 17, 2022, the Mass RMV updated their mask policy as follows: Face Covering Requirement Extended until April 18, 2022. In compliance with the Transportation Safety Administration's Mask Mandate: Face covering are required for all occupants while in state vehicles for Road Test Exams until further notice - regardless of vaccination status. Masks are required for all driving lesson and license test appointments, regardless of vaccine status. Students and instructors must wear a mask for the duration of their lessons.
A twenty-four (24) hour notice is needed to cancel any lessons. There will be an additional forty five dollar ($45.00) fee for single lessons and eighty five dollar ($85.00) fee for double lessons owed to Hoffman Auto School if student does not meet all the cancellation requirements.
DRIVER'S EDUCATION CERTIFICATE and RMV LICENSE ROAD TEST:
The Driver’s Education Certificate is issued after the classroom, driving hours, and Parent Class are successfully completed. The cost of the Driver’s Education Certificate is NOT included in the tuition package price. A $15.00 additional fee payable directly to Hoffman Auto School will be required after the Classroom and On-Road Portion has been completed.
RMV LICENSE ROAD TEST
In order to take the RMV License road test, the student must take the test in either the Hoffman Auto School vehicle or the Rmv test vehicle. Masks are required. If Hoffman Auto School students wish to have the Auto school sponsor him/her for his/her license appointment, there is an One Hundred Fifty Dollar ($150.00) fee for the use of our vehicle. This is an additional fee, separate from the tuition and separate from the Registry’s fee for the actual license and road test. We must book your license test if you are going with us. You may register with the auto school for the license road test after you have successfully completed the entire program and your Driver's Ed. Certificate is issued. Simply mail in your One Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00) fee and we will book your appointment for you.
Again there are two License Test Sponsor options available:
RMV Option: The student is required to schedule their own road lesson through the RMV website and will need to have a qualified sponsor with them during their test. The test will be taken in a state issued vehicle, with a limited amount of time to familiarize yourself with the vehicle and it's controls. The RMV is currently publishing an approximate 60 day (2 month) timeframe for getting a road test. This test cannot be scheduled before you finish your lessons. (i.e. If you finish your road lessons in June, the approximate time you could get your license would be in the Aug-Sept time frame)
GROUP TEST OPTION: This option is done directly at the Auto School or the RMV. The student must be brought to the test location and picked up upon completion of the test. We generally run 2 or 3 tests a month, and a majority of students can take their test 3-4 weeks after they complete their road lessons (not all students will qualify for this timeframe). Call for more information. We are also required to have a minimum number of students for group testing.
PARENTS: Remember, your child may not operate a motor vehicle within the first six months after receiving their JOL while any person under age 18 is in the vehicle (other than themselves or an immediate family member), unless they are accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years old, has at least one year of driving experience, holds a valid driver's license from Massachusetts or another state, and is occupying a seat beside them. Forbid use of a cell phone while driving - It's against the law for a Junior Operator to use a cell phone to talk, text, or do anything else while driving (except report an emergency).
A new law passed by the Massachusetts RMV in 2007 requires that parents attend an informational two (2) hour class in order for the student to receive the Driver’s Education Certificate. Also no lessons can be scheduled until the parent class has been fulfilled or a copy of a certificate is on file. This is a mandatory requirement. This class explains to the parents the current requirements for students under the age of eighteen (18), the Junior Operator Laws, and the fines and penalties associated with violating those laws among other things. If a student is under the age of 18, a Parent must attend one of these informational classes. Parent class dates are available on the schedule page. Only one parent need attend. A parent need only attend once every five (5) years. Therefore, if a family has had previous or subsequent children attending Driver’s Education within a five (5) year period of attending a Parent Class, then attendance may not be required again. If a Parent has previously attended a Parent Class at another Auto School, then a Parent Class Certificate from the other Auto School is Required. You are more than welcome to attend a class again, even if already fulfilled.
OTHER STUDENT FEES NOT INCLUDED IN TUITION:
1/2 Hour License Refresher Lesson $25
Use of Hoffman Auto School vehicle for road test: $150
Driver Education Certificate: $15
Missed Lesson Fees (Single/Double) $45/$85
Additional lessons beyond 12 required lessons: $60
Second road test fees: $80
Kick Start Program: $200
A LA CARTE FEES for NON-STUDENTS:
• Individual Driving Lessons: $85.00/hour per lesson.
• 12 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $600.00
• 6 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $400.00
• 30 Hour Classroom Instruction only: $400.00
• 2 Hour Parent Class: $50.00
• Use of car for road test: $150.00
• Medical Board Competency (6 hours) $475.00
(Students are required to take at least one -1-hour road lesson to evaluate ability to pass test.)